Expansion of Brics: Cuba accepted as partner country



The 16th Brics summit in Kazan (source: Bruno Rodríguez/X)

In a significant expansion of the international alliance, the Brics countries – Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa – announced the admission of 13 new associate members at their 16th summit in Kazan, Russia. These include two Latin American countries, Bolivia and Cuba.

The other new partner countries are Algeria, Belarus, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Nigeria, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Uzbekistan, and Vietnam, according to a statement from the summit that ended on Thursday. The partnership in the alliance does not correspond to full membership, but can be seen as a kind of preliminary stage and serves to integrate further countries from the Global South.

Russian President Vladimir Putin, who currently holds the group's presidency, emphasized in a press conference that Russia had done everything in its power to integrate the new members organically into the "Brics family", which it had succeeded in doing. Russia would fulfill the alliance's presidency responsibly. Putin praised the open and professional course of the summit events and the mutual understanding at the meeting.

The Brics states committed themselves to strengthening partnerships in the financial sector and promoting a more democratic and multipolar world. The Brics is not a closed format, but open to all who share its values.

With regard to the global financial system, the Russian president emphasized that the Brics group is not developing an alternative to the Swift system. Instead, Russia is working on its own transmission system for the financial sector, and other Brics countries also have their own systems. Putin suggested extending Brazil's chairmanship of the Brics bank and assured that Moscow had no intention of transferring its own problems to institutions it is interested in developing.

According to diplomatic sources from the Brazilian delegation in Kazan, who were interviewed by the Brazilian media outlet *Brasil de Fato*, Venezuela was removed from the list of possible partner countries due to Brazil's veto during the preliminary negotiations for the summit. Brazil's Foreign Minister Mauro Vieira stated that the Brics heads of state had reached a consensus on the "criteria and principles" that will guide the future expansion of the bloc.

Cuba's Foreign Minister Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla arrived in Russia on October 22 to attend the forum. Earlier, President Miguel Díaz-Canel canceled his participation due to the critical situation following a nationwide blackout and Hurricane Oscar.

The Brics summit was attended by delegations from 36 countries, including the ten members of the extended group: Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa, Egypt, Iran, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia. and Ethiopia. (Cubaheute)